One Crayon Colour Challenge

Sally Russick from the Studio Sublime recently sent out a challenge designed to spark our creativity. The challenge was to pick one of eight crayon colours – red, orange, yellow, green, blue, purple, brown or black and create a monochromatic design using all the tints, tones and shades of that one colour. Hence, it’s called the ‘One Crayon Colour Challenge’.

I chose P-U-R-P-L-E.

Purple, according to the Sensational Color website is a colour that’s often liked by very creative or eccentric types as well as being the favourite colour of adolescent girls. As I’m well beyond adolescence, and too young to be eccentric (well, too eccentric anyway), I’m going to adopt the creative label for myself. 

So, without further ado, here is my P-U-R-P-L-E creation:

Using chain and a wire-wrapping technique I’ve attached floral and other assorted shaped beads to create a chunky style charm bracelet. The multiple shades of purple (amethyst, eggplant, indigo, lavender, violet, lilac, mauve, mulberry and plum) work together to create a piece of jewellery which, in my view is both uplifting and calming at the same time.

The bracelet is distinctly floral in design and features lucite violet flowers, as well as amethyst trumpet flowers, matte amethyst bell flowers and violet AB flowers in Czech glass. I’ve also included silver foil beads, cats eye beads, crystals, antique fire-polished beads and more…

Click the links below to visit the other P-U-R-P-L-E designs:

Tracy Mok   http://bumblebeadsdesigns.blogspot.com

Jennifer Judd Velasquez http://jenjuddrocks.blogspot.com

Marti Conrad  http://marticsclay.blogspot.com

Lori Anderson  http://prettythingsblog.com

Donna Bradley  http://strandedbeads.blogspot.com

Courtney Breul  http://beadsbybreul.blogspot.com

Linda Younkman   http://lindysdesigns.blogspot.com

Susan Kennedy  http://www.suebeads.blogspot.com

Lisa Liddy   http://Lisaliddy.wordpress.com

Dawn Doucette  http://designsbydawnmarie.blogspot.com

Go to the Studio Sublime for the full list of participants in the One Crayon Colour Challenge.

23 comments

  1. What a sensational spring explosion! Lovely!

  2. I love your beautiful lush and full bracelet! It is stunning.

  3. Oh, I adore the flora design you’ve created with all the purple beads. It’s a really nice piece!

  4. Beautiful! I love all those lucite flowers!

  5. Love the flowers – beautiful bracelet!

  6. What a sweet bracelet. Love the flowers!

  7. Very cool bracelet, love those lucite flowers! So pretty!

  8. Regina · · Reply

    What a glorious bracelet. Perfect for spring. It is beautiful.

  9. beadsong · · Reply

    All the shades of purple and all the flower beads make the bracelet like a beautiful walk through an English garden – lovely!

  10. Lovely bracelet. Great technique. Esp love all the different shades and flowers.

  11. Great bracelet. Love what you did with the flowers. Fringe bracelets are my absolute favorites.

  12. antiquitytravelers · · Reply

    oh, so very pretty! truly looks like a garden of spring flowers!

  13. studiosublime · · Reply

    oh my, oh my!!! Tracy you did purple so proud!!! My jaw dropped when I saw your STUNNING bracelet!! All I can say is WOW!!!!!!

    I want to THANK YOU for participating in the hop!! I love, love ,love every bit of your gorgeous bracelet!!

  14. That is a beautiful garden of a bracelet. Those flowers are perfect and I love all the different kinds of beads you used. It is just stunning.

  15. This is the most beautiful bracelet! I can’t even imagine how long it took you to make it! Your choice of beads…all of it…just beautiful!

  16. How pretty! Love the colors and the flowers. Nifty looking clasp as well!

  17. Absolutely LOVE this style! Beautiful!

  18. What a beautiful bracelet. It is so full of yummy. I bet it is a fun bracelet to wear as it looks as if it would sing to you. Great job. I love it.

  19. Tracy,
    Your bracelet is stunningly gorgeous!
    Therese

  20. A gorgeous piece! I love all the various shades of purple. I’ll bet this piece is lovely on the wrist.

  21. designsbydawnmd · · Reply

    I Love it Tracy!! Fellow Purple Girl, you did the group proud. I love the fullness of this, almost like it’s own bouquet! Great design Tracy, and it’s wonderful to connect with another artist! Looking forward to more blog posts! {Hugs!}

  22. I adore your bracelet…how whimsical it is. The beautiful flowers and all the shades mixed together….a luscious bouquet for your wrist!

  23. Hi Tracy – I love that you researched more about purple…I now feel eccentric and adolescent and awesome!!! haaaaaaaaa
    Jen

Leave a Reply

