Vintaj ‘Northern Lights’ Challenge

This month’s Vintaj Design Challenge theme is Northern Lights, something that I am keen to experience first-hand someday. It’s on my bucket list!

My pendant necklace (named Aurora) is inspired by the many travel segments I have seen on the Northern Lights… I am lying in my glass domed igloo, looking skyward and completely entranced by the magical and mystical lights dancing across the winter skies.

Aurora – Northern Lights necklace

My necklace design features a dichroic cabochon by Australian artist Lyn Owen, and a Swarovski Topaz AB2X bicone dangle.  I have used two scrolled filigree rings which I have flattened and laced together with brass wire.  Sandwiched in the centre of the filigree rings is a brass circle blank, with the ‘Northern Lights’ cabochon on one side, and a moon and stars charm on the reverse.  The necklace is finished with decorative Vintaj ladder chain and a lobster clasp.

Reverse side of pendant

Vintaj “Northern Lights” February 2013 Design Challenge.
Vote for your favourite design at the Vintaj blog.
Voting will be open from February 4 – midnight February 8.

 

4 comments

  1. This is amazing. The front of the focal is just stunning, but the attention you’ve paid to both sides makes this something special x

  2. This is really beautiful!

  3. I adore Lyns work and the collaboration of your design is fabulous, love this pendant, its gorgeous!

    1. Thanks Caron. I’m a huge fan of Lyn’s work – her pieces are beautiful, and this one was so fitting for my Northern Lights design!

Leave a Reply

