Lucite and Clay Blog Hop

Some time ago, I signed up for Lisa Lodge’s Lucite and Clay Blog Hop and today is REVEAL day. I requested Vintage Lucite and received the blue and black bead mix below.  I really like the retro look of these beauties, especially the striped rounds.

Blue and black Lucite beads.

We’re in the midst of a heatwave here in Australia, so I wanted to create a long necklace with a summery, fresh feel to it, but in colours that you might not usually associate with summer.  I’ve designed an asymmetrical necklace using a white painted wooden flower as the focal with red painted wooden beads and cobalt blue Czech glass beads on either side. I’ve arranged the blue Lucite beads in clusters with silver bead caps, and connected the necklace with a chunky silver chain.

White painted wooden focal bead and Lucite clusters.

A fresh, summery necklace perfect for the season.

To see what everyone else participating in the Lucite and Clay Blog Hop came up with go to the list of participants on Lisa’s blog.

16 comments

  1. how cute!!! share some of the heat PLEASE…………………….

  2. Rich wonderful colorway, perfect for summer 😉 Gorgeous!!

  3. Your necklace turned out really cute. I like all the color and texture to it. It does have a very summery feel to it.

  4. What a fun necklace, I love the design.

  5. You certainly are in a heat wave in there! I love your use of red, white, and blue. That is a favorite of mine. Your pieces looks very nautical. Congrats on a job well done!

    1. Thanks Kathy, I wasn’t thinking nautical at the time, but you’re so right.

  6. Love those cool colors for summer! Very pretty creations 🙂

  7. I love the red white and blue theme! I can just feel the Summer air … (Which is great, because it is 14 degrees ouside right now). Lovely work! So glad you joined the hop!

    1. Thanks for organising the hop Lisa, it was a lot of fun.

  8. I love the necklace! You did a fantastic job. 🙂

  9. Hi Tracy,
    I love your necklace very pretty. I also like that it is long perfect for hot sticky days!
    Therese

  10. That is an amazing necklace. I love the addition of the red beads and that flower is stunning. The silver wire is a great compliment to the beads.

  11. Wow. You received some lovely beads there! Really love the combination of the navy with red and white – they’re actually colours that remind me of summer, I think it’s quite nautical!

    1. Thanks Clair. You’re right, it is a nautical theme, although that was quite unintentional.

Leave a Reply

