Bead Soup Reveal

This is my fourth Bead Soup Blog Party, and it’s been just as much fun as all the previous parties. This time around I was partnered with talented bead artist Liz DeLuca who sent me a gorgeous vibrant coloured soup… I love the bright colours, although using them together proved a challenge as I tend to design and wear more monochromatic colour palettes.

BSBP-March2013-Soup-from-Liz

Eventually and after much experimentation,  I decided not to over-complicate my designs, sometimes simple works best. My first piece uses the colourful focal bead, cobalt blue rounds and green lentils strung on blue leather cord and finished with a macrame slide clasp.  It looks fabulous with jeans and a shirt.

BSBP-March-2013-Necklace-sml

My second design uses the silver toggle clasp, the turquoise rondells and the turquoise picasso firepolished beads. I’ve added some silver daisy spacers to complement the style of the clasp and have used copper cones and copper seed beads to pick up the warmth of the picasso finish. I’m a fan of silver and copper together and am pleased with how this turned out.

BSBP-March-2013-Bracelet-sml

Now it’s time to check out Liz’s blog and see what she made with the soup that I sent her and to visit Lori’s blog for the complete list of Bead Soup Blog Party participants.

88 comments

  1. Your pieces came out so great. I’ve got a soft sport for blue, so they’re both calling out to me. However, that first one is totally my style with it’s array of other colors that would brighten up ANY outfit. I really like the adjust-ability of it as well. Wonderful designs!!

  2. Both pieces are beautiful in different ways. The necklace is simply classic and the bracelet is delicate and feminine.I love them both…..great work!!!

  3. I love both of your designs, but that necklace really sings to me. Beautiful!

  4. Summer, beach, blue sky, feet at the water, wearing monochromatic clothes and then with a big bäng your necklace. Great! 🙂

  5. Gosh – they are a bright soup mix. And I love both the pieces you made. Glad you went with a simpler design – it works.

  6. Patty Johnson · · Reply

    Love the colors in both….really lovely!

  7. LOVE the mix of metal in your bracelet. The colour combination is beautiful!

  8. Kim Houston · · Reply

    Love the bracelet, those turquoise/aquas/greens are my favorites!

  9. Oh, I love them both! I love your first necklace and how you put the focal off to the side. Whenever I try for asymmetrical, it always looks wrong to me, but I love it when everybody else does it!

  10. kathy lindemer · · Reply

    I agree simple is best at times. The necklace is great. I also am very found of the bracelet.

  11. Your pieces are both beautiful Tracy.

  12. Wonderfully creative!

  13. Love the color in the focal and how you accented it. Great job!

  14. Those copper seed beads really accent the beauty of the beads. And the first piece is just so happy. Love those bright colors!

  15. Love the way you brought out the colors of the focal with your design, both pieces are beautiful!

  16. Beautiful designs!

  17. Both designs are great. The fresh, bright colours are perfect for spring.

  18. Carolyn Gebert · · Reply

    great designs ! love the necklace !!

  19. Love that top necklace and the asymmetrical balance you achieved! Very nice pieces. 🙂

  20. Just love the bracelet! ♥

  21. Love both pieces, the colours are fantastic!

  22. You created such happy pieces from your soup ingredients…the colors are wonderful, and the completed jewelry makes me think of warm weather and happy days.

  23. very pretty

  24. both bracelets are distinctive and bold. I love the simplicity and the playful elegance of the first one with the waxed cord and simple closure. Great soup!

  25. Love the bracelet and never thought of silver and copper together. I am in the second reveal.

  26. Love the multi strands in the bracelet!

  27. Great colors, amazing work!

  28. Lovely creations.

  29. You are right, simple is beautiful, lovely pieces.

  30. Robin Kae Reed · · Reply

    Really love both designs!! Simple and bold and very wearable for the necklace, and the bracelet is intricate and I love the mixed metals!!! Have a Blessed Day!!!

  31. innovativejourneys0404 · · Reply

    You are right, very vibrant! I love the bracelet. But, the necklace is pretty awesome! Thanks for sharing your talents with us!

  32. oooooo..I love both very much. What a bright and colorful way to show off that lamp work focal!

  33. i love how bright and colorful your designs are. the turquoise bracelet is my favorite

  34. Sometimes simple is better and your pieces are both beautiful!

  35. I also tend to design with monochromatic palettes but you’ve managed the challenge well and designed two gorgeous pieces. Congratulations.

Leave a Reply

