History Hop – Native American Maiden

This is my second History Hop Challenge — which challenges participants to create a piece of jewellery inspired by the style of, or using materials from that era.   There were 17 historical periods to choose from this time around and I picked ‘Native American’.

I’ve made a Native American maiden which I intend to turn into a brooch.  I was a tourist in the United States a few years ago, and I saw many similar Native American maidens being sold as souvenirs at roadside tourist markets – often as earrings. I’ve used a traditional Native American colour palette and my maiden is hand-woven using brick stick which is also known as Apache stitch.

Beaded maiden in traditional dress

Note: I can’t take credit for the design – I found it on the internet, but unfortunately with no link to the name of the original artist so I’m unsure of its origins.

Thanks for stopping by.  Now, it’s time to hop along and check out what time periods the other participants were inspired by and see what jewellery designs they have created. You can find the full list of participants for this History Hop on the Beady Eyed Bunny’s blog.

20 comments

  1. kokopelli79 · · Reply

    Awwwwww, she’s so cute! Well done!

  2. ♥ a beautiful maiden in beautiful coloured clothes! To me it does not seem to be easy to create her… Great work!

  3. Gerda · · Reply

    The girl is lovely 🙂

  4. What a cute little doll! It’s going to make a lovely brooch I think!

  5. This is lovely. This is a beautiful doll and the colours you’ve chosen are so right – on e had to include turquoise, couldn’t left it out. Great work.

  6. Your maiden is so cute! What will you do with her now that she’s all stitched up?

    1. Thanks Clair, I think she’ll become a brooch. 🙂

  7. This is lovely! I have very little skill with doing seedbead work, so I am very impressed. I love the colors, too. Nicely done! 😀

  8. I love what you did! I agree with Izzie, a brooch would look nice

  9. Awwwww your maiden is a beauty. She is put together perfectly!

  10. Lovely work, Tracy – I love the colours that you chose

  11. Wonderful details on your precious little maid.

  12. ahowin · · Reply

    Very beautiful design and great colour combo.

    1. Thanks, I tried to stick to a native America colour palette for authenticity.

  13. I love that!! I have tried seed weaving and that is exactly what I wanted to be able to do, unfortunately I can’t follow a pattern!! That doll beaded piece will look fabby as a brooch 🙂

    1. Thanks…I’ll admit that it was a little difficult to follow the pattern, mainly because I was using a picture as my pattern. I’m very happy with how it turned out though. 🙂

  14. That looks like it was fun to bead. Such great colours 🙂

  15. Lovely design! I love Native American beading and your interpretation is perfect!

  16. This is too perfect! It reminds me of some beaded Native American pouches I saw at the Wellcome Collection in London. Thank you for joining in again!

    1. Thanks Leah, and for organising another History Hop….look forward to the next one. x

Leave a Reply

