6th Do Over Challenge

Once again, I’m joining in Jeannie Dukic’s Do Over Challenge. Here’s how it works, in Jeannie’s words: “I will send you an old, tried, boring piece of my jewelry for free and you will work your magic and turn in into something beautiful and amazing.”  The only rule is to try to use at least 50% of the Do Over piece in the new design.

This is the jewellery I received from Jeannie – I love those fabric rectangle beads and was almost reluctant to tear it apart…

6th Do Over Challenge_Before

6th Do Over Challenge – necklace received from Jeannie

From the jewellery above I have created three new pieces of jewellery, a necklace, bracelet and earrings in completely different styles.

6th Do Over Necklace

Japanese inspired casual necklace using the floral fabric beads.

6th Do Over Bracelet

Yin and Yang ethnic silver bracelet using the silver chain, findings and some of
the black and white beads. I added a flattened Balinese bead cap.

6th Do Over Earrings

Moroccan inspired earrings using the silver rings, I added
an etched copper background and copper findings.

Now it’s time to check out the rest of the participants in the 6th Do Over Challenge. Go to Jeannie’s blog for the complete list. Happy hopping.

17 comments

  1. vem030956 · · Reply

    Great job. I love the first one. Very zen! And the black and white ying yang bracelet….I can see it with the traditional little black dress….Great earrings….I love the colors in it. Thanks for the great post.

  2. Those fabric floral beads are beautiful, and I love how you used them – the pop of red is perfect! The yin/yang bracelet is awesome – black and white can really overpower a piece, but you balanced it perfectly with the bright silver chain and bead cap. And I am in love with your etched copper earrings! Beautiful job all around! 🙂

  3. Wow all three pieces are beautiful. The necklace is a simple yet beautiful piece I like the splash of red. I like the three strands on the bracelet nice design. I love the earring they are awesome.
    Therese

  4. What a terrific job on all 3 pieces. Love the pop of the red in the necklace and am intrigued with the earrings.

  5. Oh, those sweet fabric beads! You did such a wonderful job…your necklace is perfection, and in fact all of your pieces are beautiful!

  6. I love your pieces. Those floral fabric beads with the pops of red look great!

  7. Really love the necklace! I envy you for receiving the fabric beads to play with.

  8. Oh, I really like that necklace you made. That pop of color you added really gives it a little something special and makes it so very cool. Wonderful job!

  9. Just adding my voice to the chorus-that necklace turned out to be a stunner! The red definitely makes it pop!

  10. I really love what you did here. The red beads perfectly set off the flowered beads. And I’m intrigued with the earrings. I love mixed metals first off, but using a chain and link as a design element like that was really inspired.

  11. Love, love, love the pop of color in the necklace- it accentuates the fabric beads so beautifully. Your Moroccan inspired earrings are fantastic- love the use of the rings and the etching. Nicely done! Christie

  12. That necklace is stunning! The pop of color just accentuates the fabric beads. The earrings are so different and unique and I love the etching. Great job! Christie

  13. Tracy you made those fabric beads really stand out with the two red rounds. I like all three of your designs.

  14. I really love what you did better. Especially the necklace with the fabric beads. AWESOME! That’s cool that you kept some of beaded links and tact and used one of the silver links as part of the clasp. I just love the look of the copper and silver together in the earrings.

    1. Thanks Jeannie and for organising another great challenge… Look forward to the next one!

  15. Oh wow! Three very different, very striking pieces. Lovely!

  16. I just love what you came up with especially the necklace. It signifies the word simplicity yet really catches the attention.

Leave a Reply

